Obama versus the Military

Quite the unusual campaign advertisement from Obama. Update: transcript at end of post.

In favor of immediately cutting and running from Iraq and presumably from Afghanistan. Going to drastically cut military spending. Going to appoint a civilian review board over the quadrennial military review board. Going to stop anti-missile defense programs, leaving Americans defenseless and terrorized by nuclear weapons. Going to try for a world without fissile materials, meaning an abandonment of nuclear power. Going to disarm American nuclear weapons that are aimed at Russia.

Wow!

Transcript

Barack Obama: I’m the only major candidate who opposed this war from the beginning; and as President, I will end it. Second, I will cut tens of billions of dollars in wasteful spending. I will cut investments in unproven missile defense systems. I will not weaponize space. I will slow our development of Future Combat Systems. I will institute an independent Defense Priorities Board to ensure that the Quadrennial Review is not used to justify unnecessary defense spending. Third, I will set a goal for a world without nuclear weapons. To seek that goal: I will not develop nuclear weapons; I will seek a global ban on the production of fissile material; and I will negotiate with Russia to take our ICBMs off hair-trigger alert, and to achieve deep cuts in our nuclear arsenal.

h/t: Ace

§

Trackposted to Outside the Beltway, Right Truth, The World According to Carl, Pirate’s Cove, The Pink Flamingo, Celebrity Smack, Dumb Ox Daily News, , Conservative Cat, Right Voices, and The Yankee Sailor, thanks to Linkfest Haven Deluxe.

Technorati Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Obama versus the Military

  1. Disarm and stand-down? Yes we can!

    I have got to think that as the general election approaches this wackiness will come to the forefront and the obama-as-new-girlfirend/boyfriend-shine will were off. The hard left will vote for him and a significant race-driven voter block will as well. I can’t see vast numbers of moderates doing so.

  2. I hope you’re right. But we must not underestimate him in the same way the Democrats and the media underestimated Reagan. I’m not saying that he’s as underrated as Reagan was, but he is as charismatic as Reagan or Kennedy, and that’s half the equation.

  3. What is the source of that quotation? I don’t see a link or reference. Is that Obama himself speaking/writing, or an actual campaign ad?

  4. The quotation is a transcription of a video at Obama’s website. You can watch it at YouTube or by clicking on the embedded video in this post.

  5. I really don’t know who to vote for. Either way we are screwed. Sarah Palin as VP… come on! What an embarrassment our country is becoming. These are the best 4 we could come up with?

  6. Sarah Palin is a born executive, and has more experience than Barack Obama. But this post isn’t about Palin. It’s about Obama and his plans to dismantle the US military.