Pulitzer Prizes are Biased Left

On Townhall.com, Brent Bozell outlines the Pulitzer Racket.

Any conservative student who aspires to be a Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist should really try another line of work. Here’s the list since George Will won in 1977 and William Safire won in 1978: Charles Krauthammer in 1987, Paul Gigot in 2000 and Dorothy Rabinowitz in 2001. That’s five conservatives in 30 years.

Three of the last five winners — [Cynthia] Tucker, Leonard Pitts and Colbert King — were leftist black columnists. William Raspberry and E.R. Shipp have also won. But the Pulitzer Prize glorifiers have never honored Thomas Sowell or Walter Williams, or other black conservatives.

Since 1992, eight of the 16 Commentary prize winners have been women. Rabinowitz is the only conservative. Anna Quindlen, Maureen Dowd, Eileen McNamara and Shipp are on the liberal list. Mary McGrory (1975) and Ellen Goodman (1980) also won that prize. But there’s been no Pulitzer for Mona Charen or Michelle Malkin or Linda Chavez or — the Pulitzer people will faint — Ann Coulter.

There’s never been a Pulitzer for Bill Buckley or Pat Buchanan or Cal Thomas or Robert Novak. Need we say more?

30:5 is roughly 85% liberal to 15% conservative. This is not based on the quality of argument, writing, or reasoning. It is based on not challenging the liberal mindlock on newsrooms. If argument or writing were the determinant then Thomas Sowell would have won every Pulitzer since he started writing.

Read it all.

Technorati Tags: ,


Comments are closed.